Complete Story
 

10/06/2017

ASAM free webinar: addressing addiction issues in veterans

Thu, Oct 12, 2017 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM EDT

Thursday, October 12, 2017

9:00 am pacific | 12:00 pm Eastern

Attend this webinar to gain insight into specific veteran issues within the context of addiction treatment. Understand the role physicians and other medical professionals can play to better serve this special population. The webinar will examine specific tools and resources for clinicians treating patients with substance use disorders, and is targeted toward clinicians, physicians, academicians, and other addiction medicine professionals who regularly interact with veterans.

Join ASAM and experts from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) for this special learning opportunity. 

Learn how to:

  • Explain the impact of the opioid epidemic on the veteran population
  • Describe the unique issues veterans may encounter during treatment
  • Appraise which treatment tools are available and appropriate for the veteran population
  • Discern comorbidities within the veteran population and specific tools to treat co-occurring substance use disorders 
  • Grasp a veteran's perspective on treatment of substance use disorders
  • Recognize the role of trauma and pain and the implications for treating and screening a veteran for substance use disorder

Speakers:

  • Anthony P. Albanese, MD, DFASAM, Affiliations Officer, Dept. of Veterans Affairs; Clinical Professor of Medicine, UC Davis School of Medicine
  • Ismene Leonida Petrakis, MD, NIAAA Institutional Research Training Program; Yale University School of Medicine
  • Raye Z. Litten, PhD, Acting Division Director, Division of Medications Development, NIAAA

Register Here